Ohio's 2020 Envirothon Champions-Bellefontaine High School


Congratulations to the Bellefontaine High School Envirothon Team.  Bellefontaine High School’s Envirothon Team is recognized as the winners of Ohio’s 2020 State Envirothon Competition.  The Envirothon is a high school competition designed to stimulate, reinforce and enhance interest in the environment and natural resources.  Students are tested on their knowledge of soils, forestry, wildlife, aquatic ecology and current environmental issues.  In addition, the Envirothon encourages cooperative decision making and team building.  While each student on a team is challenged individually to contribute his or her personal best, the score that counts at the end of the competition is the team score.  A team consists of five students, all from the same high school.  An adult advisor must accompany the team, but is not permitted to assist the team during the competition,  The team was made up of seniors Ben Sailors Jacob Shell and Dustin VanBuskirk.  Underclassman Evan Kauffman, Olivia Eader and Neil Kauffman rounded out the team.  They were advised by science teacher, Kristy Mount. Each team member will receive a $100 award and the school will receive $300 for a future environmental event.  

High school students across the state compete on the local level at one of the five Area Envirothons. The top four teams from each Area Envirothon then go on to compete at the state competition held each year in June for the title of State Envirothon Champion.  Typically, the winning team would compete at the national competition in Lincoln, Nebraska, held annually in July but that will not take place this year.  

Video of the announcement of Ohio’s 2020 Envirothon team finalists.